Mini-guide

The main features of interest are shown here. The plan is colour coded to represent the main periods of construction. Read more.

A general description of architectural features is included here.

1 East window containing the Minster’s only medieval glass.

 

2 Retro-Choir where thousands of pilgrims came to pray at the shrine of St John of Beverley. The new window and art installation are by Helen Whittaker.

3 St Katherine’s Chapel reserved for private prayer.

4 The High Altar or Sanctuary. The oldest object in the Minster – the Sanctuary Chair () dates from the 8th century when St John founded the monastery here. The 14th century Percy Canopy () on the north side is a masterpiece of the ‘decorated’ Gothic style.

5 The Quire contains 68 early 16th century stalls, each with a seat (misericord) containing a unique carving on the underside. They are some of the finest in the country.

6 The Organ was built by John Snetzler and installed in 1769. The screen was designed by Sir Gilbert Scott and carved locally by James Elwell.

7 The tomb of St John of Beverley who died in 721. He was made a saint in 1037 for his gift of healing the sick. Examples are recorded in the first history book of the English Church by Bede in 731.

8 Medieval musicians are seen in stone carvings throughout the Minster but the largest number can be seen along the north aisle. It is said to be the largest collection in the world.

9 St John of Beverley (on the right) and King Athelstan (on the left) are depicted in large statues on either side on the south door. They were cast in lead in 1781 and painted at a later date.

10 The Font (c.1170) dates from an earlier Norman Church on the site of the present Minster. Still used for baptisms, it is carved in Frosterley marble. The wooden canopy is from the 18th century.